Full Disclosure – The Confession

I have to ‘fess up.

My goal and my blog posts for this year are focused on completing my novel. The thing is:

I’m almost halfway there.

This confession is to set the record straight. I don’t want anyone to think they’re going to be with me from idea creation, to plotting, to writing word number one. My novel already has over 30,000 words.

I just can’t seem to finish it. I feel stuck. Not sure why.

Is it inability? No.

Is it laziness? Doubtful.

Look, I made cookies!                    brown_butter

That’s it, my true confession. There are times when I lack focus. When I should be writing on my novel, I find myself distracted by the shiny—a new short story idea or a yummy-looking recipe. I struggle with disciplining myself to keep my cheeks in the seat and write.

So I’ve set myself a schedule to help get me in the habit writing. To become consistent. To be able to write on demand and not only when the muse (or my mood) takes me.

One hour a day, every day. It will be me alone with the screen. No phone. No Internet. Just me and the page.

I’ll confess…

I’m scared.

7 thoughts on “Full Disclosure – The Confession

  1. When feel stuck – first, I eat a cookie – but then I go to he beginning of my novel and start reading (and often editing). Usually, by the time I get to the “end” I have the a vague cloud of an idea. And if I don’t? I repeat the process until it does. It’s time consuming, but it’s never let me down. It usually leads me to a place where I can storyboard the rest of the novel, too and keeps me from writing way too much (which I’ll do anyway, but anything helps, right?) I hope this helps.

    1. Great advice, Victoria! And it does help. Thank you. Re-reading tends to make me think, “Ooh! This should go here.”

      By the way, what cookies do you prefer? The cookies in my picture are brown sugar cookies. Yum! 🙂

  2. I’m working on a novel I started in 2008. So many things have distracted me. I went on a short story tangent that derailed progress. Two military deployments since ’08. Life intervenes.
    You can do it. Drive on.

Leave a Reply

