Interview with author Rie Sheridan Rose

Author Rie Sheridan Rose is talking with me about writing. Rie’s story, “The Madness in Her Eyes” is featured in the horror anthology “In the Bloodstream” published by Mocha Memoirs Press (MMP).

ER: Hi, Rie. Thanks for chatting with me. Tell us a bit about your background and what makes you tick. (*Curls hands around a soy cappuccino*)

RSR: I have wanted to be a writer all my life, but really started to work hard at it about the end of the 90’s. When I was “downsized” right before my wedding in 2002, my husband was generous enough to tell me I could do it full-time, so  I have been working on that ever since. Still not good at buckling down yet, but getting better with practice.

ER: Give us a short blurb about your “Bloodstream” story. How did you get the idea?

RSR: My story, “The Madness in Her Eyes” is about a group of college kids who decide to play Hide-and-Seek in a graveyard. It is based very closely on an incident from college. Right up until the long-term results of the outing, it is the truth – names changed to protect the foolish. 🙂

ER: Why did you start writing?  What drew you specifically to horror?

RSR:  As I say,  I have always written. I just love putting words together. I wouldn’t say I am drawn specifically to horror, though I have experimented with it a great deal. I love trying to scare the reader. That ability is not easy to come by, but lovely if you manage it.

ER: What scares you?

RSR: Stephen King has given me quite a few thrills through the years. Charlee Jacobs knows how to push the metaphorical buttons. I like cerebral stories like Poe and just plain over the top stuff like Jeff Strand too. I think a good build up to a surprise or a hidden monster is most likely to get me.

ER: What do you do when your muse deserts you? How do you stay inspired?

RSR: Read, watch TV, play a video game. I direct my attention to something else for awhile. Also, reading random links my husband sends me is often good for inspiration. Wikipedia articles, for instance, can be a great source for inspiration.

ER: You’re going to the gallows. What’s your last meal?

RSR: Steak, mashed potatoes, carrots, and lemon meringue pie – with lots of Dr. Pepper. Might as well enjoy it. 🙂

(ER: A friend of mine once called Dr. Pepper “The nectar of the gods”. I understand.)

The world trembles before me. Or is that me shaking?
The world trembles before me.
Or is that me shaking?

ER: What’s your next project? Will you share with us?

RSR: My next big project is the second volume in my Steampunk series, The Conn-Mann Chronicles. I have been putting it off to write a lot of short stories this year, but it is time to take advantage of NaNoWriMo and finish the first draft.

ER: What do you do when you’re not writing?

RSR: Housework…and way too much goofing off on Facebook. 🙂

ER: I always picture writers with a beverage close at hand.  What’s your poison?

RSR: Dr. Pepper, but I am trying to cut down, so I’ve been drinking a lot of Peach flavored water. If you mean harder stuff, either a margarita, a rum and coke, or an Amaretto sour. (ER: Rum and cake?  Oh… Coke…)

ER: Any suggestions for aspiring writers out there?

RSR: Just write. It doesn’t matter if it is good or bad to start. You can never get better if you don’t practice. Put your first thoughts down on paper. You can always edit and smooth it later. Let it be rough and jagged to start with. And NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is a great way to learn to write to a deadline, to a word count, without self-editing.

ER: Do you dream?  If so, do you use it in your writing? What’s the craziest dream you ever had?

RSR: I rarely remember my dreams, but when I do, I have used them in various pieces. I think the craziest dream I had was when I was about 12 and dreamed that Lily Munster had taken a fancy to Ben Pepper from The Five Little Peppers, and I was his sister Polly trying to save him…

ER: What’s your goal for your writing?

RSR: I have decided I want to win a Hugo. Wish me luck. 😉

Best of luck, Rie!  If you’d like to read some of Rie’s work, check her out here:

Rie Sheridan Rose

website: www.riewriter.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rie-Sheridan-Rose/38814481714

Twitter: @RieSheridanRose

Leave a Reply

