Short Story Month: “The Cactus”

In honor of Short Story Month, I’m sharing some of the short stories I love to read. View my selection from last week.

Today, I’m sharing another short story I admire – O. Henry’s “The Cactus”.

 

A picture of the author.  I dig the handlebar mustache...
A picture of the author.
I dig the handlebar mustache…

You’re probably familiar with O. Henry’s “The Gift of the Magi”, but I enjoy this story just as much. Communication is so important in a relationship, as is being honest about your abilities. When these fall by the wayside, so does the potential of a budding romance.

I can't think of what would make this story better.  Except maybe a hand stitched book cover...
I can’t think of what would make this story better.
Except maybe a hand stitched book cover…

Read the entire story here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

