Southern Magic with Eden Royce’s Spook Lights

I’m so pleased to share the review of my short story collection, Spook Lights, from Rosemary’s Pixie!

rosemary's pixie

SL Cover FinalSpook Lights:  Southern Gothic Horror (135 pages, Kindle Editon, 2015)

As an avid horror reader, I am always open to new stories and writers, but I admit I can get bored when I read the same themes over and over again.  The Graveyardshiftsisters site features women of colour horror writers putting their own stamp on the genre, and one such author is Eden Royce, a U.K. based, African-American writer and editor who has contributed to several horror anthologies and written her own novellas.  My first introduction to her work was Containment, a unique story about a devil-human hybrid and his battle with a formidable entity which I really enjoyed, so I was happy to hear of her new collection honouring her Southern roots.

Sea sirens, enchantments and spirits from beyond take you on a mystical journey in Royce’s new anthology Spook Lights: Southern Gothic Horror.  Named after ghostly marsh lights and set in her home town of Charleston, South Carolina, this collection of…

View original post 313 more words

Leave a Reply

