Flypaper: A Review

I picked up a copy of Book One of this series by C.K. Vile when it was free on Kindle.

Synopsis from Amazon:

Raised in a nightmare-like existence he now recreates in his books, Nick Dawkins wants nothing more than to be left alone. Podunk USA should be far enough away, but for his most passionate fans, the end of the earth is still too close. 

Danielle, a fan who manages to find him, shows up and his writer’s block vanishes. He’s inspired. Dreams he didn’t know he had are on the brink of coming true.

He should know better. He’s the teller of terror. There’s no room in his life for fairytales.

FlyPaper1

I was on Twitter yesterday and I saw a tweet from author Sam Sykes that asked if people could get away from using “well-written” in reviews and instead tell exactly what was great about the book. Incidentally, I met Sam Sykes at Dragon*Con one year and he said I was the most polite person he’d ever signed a book for. (Random comment, I know, but I wanted this review to be a bit longer.)

While I agree with him, I’ve done it myself. ‘Well-written’ is a catch all phrase to describe well, just about anything the author’s done. So in this review, I said I would not use that term. So here it goes:

Flypaper is well-written disturbingly descriptive. It starts out similarly to several Stephen King storylines: a popular writer goes to a remote location to escape his oppressive fan base.

In this case Nick is frustrated with the attention from his popularity and it is starting to show when he makes public appearances. He retreats to a small town to write, but continues to be uninspired. And the attitude of the townspeople is less than welcoming. Much less.

Then he meets Danielle and his muse returns, even though she says she is unfamiliar with his work. But Danielle has ulterior motivations, and as her mental state declines, her lies come to light.

Unfortunately for Nick, obsessions can get…sticky.

C.K. Vile does a great job describing the reactions of Small Town USA and the mob mentality of some Internet message boards.

Where I had trouble was Nick’s reaction to Danielle once she started showing signs of…well, not being stable. There were several times where I thought, “Why doesn’t this guy just put his house alarm on and ignore his phone?” But I suppose being ‘that into’ someone makes you do—or not do—some strange things.

But as a thriller, it’s an enjoyable read. I did find myself wanting to finish it and as it is a short book, that isn’t a challenge.

Check out the book trailer here. And get your copy on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

