Dem Bones: A Primer on Southern Conjure

I can’t believe I didn’t blog about the first article I wrote for Dirge, the smart, sexy, darkly funny culture magazine. I must have been overwhelmed by the response (and the exhaustion from juggling so many projects).

It was published on February 23, during Women in Horror month. So glad it was too, so that I could share the work of some amazing Black women who write horror.  Some you may have heard of, others maybe not so much, but I’m sure you’ll find something to suit your tastes. If you haven’t  already seen that article, read it here and add something to your bookshelf.

Kneeling bookshelves
Kneeling bookshelves by Samal DesignBeautiful

But, this week, I have a new article up with Dirge about the origins of Southern conjure magic. What is Southern conjure magic? I’m so glad you asked.

Wander over to Dirge magazine and have a look. There’s a bit of background on the origins of the practice, its evolution, and a few basics on ingredients and techniques. And a surprise or two for the curious.

Thanks to Dirge for picking up these article from me and for welcoming me into the folds of its dark cloak.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

